FAQ explaining the Triple Crown three-race format of Supercross

Saturday’s fifth round of the 2022 Monster Energy AMA Supercross in Glendale, Ariz., will be the first event in the Triple Crown format in nearly two years. There were three Triple Crown events on the 2020 schedule, but due to COVID-19 we only saw two events take place before the championship went on hiatus and then eventually returned to Salt Lake City, Utah, for the last seven rounds. In those last seven rounds they were all under the normal format (qualifying, heat races, LCQ, then main events) – only the final differed as it was an East/West Showdown main event where the two classes ran together.

For this reason, the last Triple Crown event was the 2020 Arlington Supercross on February 22, 2020, where Eli Tomac finished 5-1-1 for the 450SX overall on a Kawasaki KX450 and Chase Sexton finished 2-1- 2 for the 250SX East Global Region on a Honda CRF250R.

So since you might need a refresher on the three-race format, we thought we’d provide one.

When was the Triple Crown format introduced?

Prior to the 2018 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship, the Triple Crown format was introduced. The Triple Crown format is similar to the Monster Energy Cup’s three-race format, but instead pays out championship points at the end of the night (unlike the off-season Monster Energy Cup race which is a stand-alone event). The initial format was adjusted slightly – the duration of the three races was changed in both classes before the start of the 2019 season – but the three-race format has happened eight times since 2018.

About Todd Wurtsbach

Check Also

Pro motocross mechanics discuss life as the key to travel

Has there ever been chatter in the mechanics areas during motos? alexander I think so. …