Daytona International Speedway and MotoAmerica Team for 2022 DAYTONA 200

80e Edition of the DAYTONA 200 Weekend scheduled from March 10 to 12, 2022; New rules, a new partner and, for the first time, the king of baggers racing on the high banks

Daytona Beach, Florida – MotoAmerica, home of AMA Superbike and North America’s premier road motorcycle racing series, is delighted to announce that it will be teaming up with Daytona International Speedway to host one of the most prestigious worldwide – the DAYTONA 200 – during the weekend of March 10-12, 2022 in Daytona Beach, Florida.

The 2022 DAYTONA 200, scheduled for the green flag on Saturday March 12, will be the 80e racing event that began on the shore of Daytona Beach in 1937 before moving to the World Center of Racing in 1961.

The DAYTONA 200 will feature new rules based on the technical rules proposed for World Supersport 2022, which take into consideration several performance-related elements that set benchmarks for balancing a wide variety of mid-weight performance machines. These new rules open the door for motorcycles such as the Triumph 765, Ducati Panigale V2, MV Agusta F3 and others to compete alongside the current Yamaha YZF-R6, Suzuki GSX-R600 and Kawasaki ZX-6R. The DAYTONA 200 will also continue to run as an “open tire” event, allowing multiple tire manufacturers to join in the competition.

The DAYTONA 200 will not be included in the MotoAmerica Supersport Championship, leaving the best riders around the world the opportunity to compete for the minimum $ 175,000 in purse and contingency that will be offered.

In addition to the DAYTONA 200, the MotoAmerica Weekend at Daytona International Speedway will be the opening round of the 2022 MotoAmerica King Of The Baggers Championship, marking the first time that Baggers will race on the high banks of a Superspeedway with speeds that should exceed 160 mph, and also the first round of the Twins Cup Championship.

“The DAYTONA 200 is known the world over for being one of the most exciting motorcycle races in the world,” said Wayne Rainey, president of MotoAmerica, who won the DAYTONA 200 in 1987. “We are proud to work. with Daytona International Speedway, WADA and FIM North American organizations will continue to build awareness of the DAYTONA 200. With the implementation of the new DAYTONA 200 rules, we hope this will open the door to more manufacturers and manufacturers. teams that will be joining us in March. It will be a great way to start the 2022 season. And, wow, Baggers on the high banks! What a spectacle that will be. Obviously, this is MotoAmerica’s first trip to Daytona, and it is my first return to the Speedway since 2008. I can’t wait for what is going to be a really cool weekend.

“The tradition of the DAYTONA 200 is unprecedented, and we are delighted to be working with such a renowned group in MotoAmerica to continue the tradition,” said Frank Kelleher, President of Daytona International Speedway. Two-wheel racing style has been a staple at Daytona for many years, first on the beach before moving on to Bill France Sr.’s incredible creation of the 31 degree turn at Daytona International Speedway and Infield Road. Race. There’s nothing quite like the excitement the DAYTONA 200 provides, including tight finishes that have become the norm. WADA President and CEO and FIM North America President Rob Dingman. “This has been one of our goals since 2015, when we partnered with MotoAmerica and facilitated the return of sanctioning rights for professional road racing to WADA.”

Earlier this year, Brandon Paasch, just 19, used an old veteran move common to Daytona, to capture the 2021 DAYTONA 200 in stunning ways. After finishing second for most of the latter part of the race, Paasch, using the draft, knocked down leader Sean Dylan Kelly and calculated a perfect slingshot move at the entrance to the tri-oval as the duo came in. the checkered flag, winning by just 0.031 of a second, and taking home the traditional Rolex Cosmograph Daytona watch.

Nine World Champions, including seven 500cc / MotoGP World Champions – six Americans (Kenny Roberts, Freddie Spencer, Eddie Lawson, Wayne Rainey, Kevin Schwantz and Nicky Hayden) and one Italian (Giacomo Agostini) – won the Daytona 200.

The most successful Daytona 200 riders are former World and AMA Superbike champion Scott Russell (1992, ’94, ’95, ’97 and ’98) and 1995 AMA Superbike champion Miguel Duhamel (’91, ’96, ’99, 2003, 2005). The two men have each won five Daytona 200s.

More information on the DAYTONA 200 2022 will be announced soon, including additional support courses, final rules, entry instructions, broadcast coverage and ticket opportunities.

The iconic Daytona International Speedway will be the site of a host of motorsport events in early 2022, starting with the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA in January, the 64e DAYTONA 500 as part of Speedweeks Presented by AdventHealth in February, featuring the 81st Annual Bike Week at DAYTONA in March, featuring the Monster Energy AMA Supercross and DAYTONA 200. Later in the summer, during Independence Weekend, the track, in association with Torneos, will host the Soccer Fest before the return of the NASCAR Cup Series for the final race of the regular season with the Coke Zero Sugar 400 on August 27.

Fans can stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for the latest speedway news. For more information on all events, visit or call 1-800-PITSHOP.

About Moto America
MotoAmerica is the North American road racing series created in 2014 that hosts the AMA Superbike Championship. MotoAmerica is a subsidiary of KRAVE Group LLC, a partnership that includes three-time 500cc World Champion, two-time AMA Superbike champion and AMA Hall of Fame member Wayne Rainey, former rider and former manager of Team Roberts Chuck Aksland, Motorsport Marketing Director. Terry Karges and businessman Richard Varner. For more information on MotoAmerica, visit Also be sure to follow MotoAmerica on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

About Todd Wurtsbach

Check Also

Thinking of the title “ridiculous”, says Jonathan Rea before the penultimate round of the World Superbike in Indonesia

The six-time champion leads Alvaro Bautista by 98 points with six races to go and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.