Daytona 200: final entry list with 50 riders published (updated) – Roadracing World Magazine

The entry list for the 2022 Daytona 200, featuring the MotoAmerica Supersport class, was released by MotoAmerica and includes 50 riders. The 80th edition of the classic race is scheduled for March 12 at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Entry lists for recent Daytona 200 races have been larger: 68 in 2021, 78 in 2020, 68 in 2019, 65 in 2018 and 69 in 2017 for an average of 69.6 runners per event.

Entry lists for the MotoAmerica Mission King Of The Baggers, MotoAmerica Twins Cup and RSD Super Hooligan classes have also been released.

Registrations are closed for the event.

While the new Daytona 200 entry list is smaller than it has been in the recent past, there are once again talented riders on the field.

Starting at the top of MotoAmerica’s entry list, which is ordered by competition numbers, is No. 2 Josh Herrin. 2010 Daytona 200 race winner Herrin rides an HSBK Racing Ducati NYC Panigale V2 Warhorse, which he tested at Daytona in January.

Herrin’s bike is one of four Ducati Panigale V2 955cc V-Twins in the field. Big Ducatis, Triumph’s 765cc Street Triple RS, MV Agusta’s 800 798cc F3 triple and Suzuki’s GSX-R750 inline-four are eligible to race against traditional 599cc inline-four sportbikes this year in part of the new FIM/MotoAmerica Supersport Next Generation Rules.

Then there’s Josh Hayes, who is listed as riding a Squid Hunter Yamaha. Squid Hunter Racing has significant racing experience at Daytona, and Hayes, a four-time AMA Superbike champion, has trained almost as hard as ever, he says, and feels he has unfinished business after being stripped of his victory at Daytona 200 in 2008 due to a technical infraction.

Rising star Kevin Olmedo of El Salvador looks back on the updated Yamaha BobbleHeadMoto/N2 Racing he raced in the 2021 Daytona 200. Olmedo’s teammate for the event will be former racer Chris Peris AMA Pro and World Supersport currently racing and winning in the N2 / WERA National Endurance Championship with Army of Darkness.

Some of the biggest names on the entry list are Jake Gagne and Cameron Petersen. Gagne won 17 of 20 races and the 2021 MotoAmerica Superbike Championship and finished second in the 2014 Daytona 200. South African Petersen also won a MotoAmerica Superbike race in 2021, but he has never raced at Daytona before, let alone in the Daytona 200. Gagne and Petersen will ride Attack Performance Yamaha YZF-R6s, as the Daytona 200 Supersport race is outside of the Fresh N Lean, Progressive and Yamaha team’s MotoAmerica Superbike deal.

Mexican rider Richie Escalante joins South African Sam Lochoff and veteran Geoff May in a three-way effort for Vision Wheel M4 ECSTAR Suzuki. The three pilots are registered to pilot GSX-R600. May has extensive racing experience at Daytona, and Lochoff won the ASRA Team Challenge endurance race at Daytona in October 2021. Escalante has never raced in the Daytona 200, but he did the AMA Supersport race at Daytona in 2014.

Four-time Daytona 200 race winner Danny Eslick returns to the high banks in search of the fifth win, which would tie him with Miguel Duhamel and Scott Russell for the most Daytona 200 wins. Eslick will ride for TOBC Racing on a Triumph Street Triple RS 765. Eslick will team up with 2021 Daytona 2021 winner Brandon Paasch, who won the race on a Yamaha before spending most of 2021 racing a Triumph Street Triple RS 765. Paasch will run its a normal #96 and not a #1, he told

Sheridan Morais, a South African now living in Portugal, looks back on the Daytona 200 with SYNTAINICS Racing Team and a Yamaha. Morais is a MotoAmerica Stock 1000 race winner and former Supersport World Championship winner who currently competes in the FIM Endurance World Championship.

After winning the Daytona 200 with Paasch in 2021, TSE Racing returns to Daytona with Harry Truelove, a British driver who won a British Supersport race in 2021.

Of the 50 runners entered for the race, 14 different nationalities are represented.

Editorial note: Use the scroll and zoom tools in the lower left corner of the PDF viewer to see the entry lists for the four classes racing at Daytona.

List of Daytona registrants

About Todd Wurtsbach

Check Also

Thinking of the title “ridiculous”, says Jonathan Rea before the penultimate round of the World Superbike in Indonesia

The six-time champion leads Alvaro Bautista by 98 points with six races to go and …