Bagger Racing League: Barnes wins Premier Bagger GP race in Utah – Roadracing World Magazine



HD Racers 1-3 in the Premier Bagger class; HD Racer Carlson wins Hooligan GP and Pro Stock GP

MILWAUKEE (June 28, 2021) – Hoban Brothers Racing / DTF Performance rider Michael Barnes rode a race-ready Harley-Davidson® Road Glide® Special motorcycle in the first Bagger Racing League (BRL) road race on June 27 at Utah Motorsports Campus in Grantsville, Utah. Competing in the Premier Bagger class of the main event, Barnes beat S & S / Indian Motorcycles rider Tyler O’Hara to the finish line by 0.356 seconds. Cory West finished third in the Saddlemen Racing / Slyfox Performance Harley-Davidson Road Glide Special. In the BRL support classes, Benny Carlson won the Hooligan GP (Suburban Motors Harley-Davidson XR1200) and Pro Stock GP (Suicide Machine Company Harley-Davidson Road Glide) races.

“This victory is a confidence boost for me and the team,” said Barnes. “We didn’t think we were that far in the MotoAmerica King of the Baggers race on Road America. For this race, we had a different front end, different shocks, different geometry. We made some smart decisions and they all made the bike better. It is a testament to the knowledge of this team. Installing a Road Glide for road racing has been a steep learning curve, not just for me, but for everyone involved. We’ve made giant strides in every test and event, so after some disappointing results earlier this season, it’s a nice reward to get this victory.

Barnes was the top qualifier for the BRL event, took the hole and led O’Hara for the entire 8-lap race distance.

“Tyler and I have raced against each other a lot over the years,” said Barnes. “He was there all the time. At first I could feel him trying a line inside. And a few times I ran wide due to gear shifting issues, but he couldn’t take advantage of it. Basically I got the hole and tried to hold it off.

The Bagger Racing League is a new racing organization promoting road racing competition for American V-Twin powered motorcycles. The races take place in four classes over a three-day weekend that also includes entertainment, including stunts.

Bagger Racing League Premier Bagger GP results:

1. Michael Barnes (Hoban Brothers Racing / DTF Performance Harley-Davidson)

2. Tyler O’Hara (S&S Indian)

3. Cory West (Saddlemen Racing / Slyfox Harley-Davidson)

4. Ben Bostrom (Feuling Parts Harley-Davidson)

5. Jake Johnson (Harley-Davidson art alloy)

6. Shane Narbonne (Trask Performance Harley-Davidson)

7. Patricia Fernandez (Indian racing saddlers)

8. Anthony Sollima (Harley-Davidson Speed ​​Dealer)

9. Zack Nation (Zack Nation Racing Harley-Davidson)


About Todd Wurtsbach

Check Also

Pro motocross mechanics discuss life as the key to travel

Has there ever been chatter in the mechanics areas during motos? alexander I think so. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.