2022 MXGP World Motocross Championship Riders & Team Guide

F&H Racing Team

Kevin Horgmo (#24)

Kevin Horgmo is back full time in MX2 after dropping back to the EMX250 Championship for a season in 2021 where he narrowly missed out on the title to Nicolas Lapucci. The F&H Racing team goes from fielding three MX2 riders (Boisrame, Van De Moosdijk, and Mikkel Haarup) at the beginning of 2021 to fielding one MXGP rider in Jed Beaton and one MX2 rider in Kevin Horgmo for 2022.

Hitachi KTM fueled by Milwaukee

Isak Gifting (#517)

Gifting goes from Diga Procross GasGas to Hitachi KTM on a two-year deal which will see him race all of the British Motocross Championship and most of the MX2 campaign. Gifting was a solid 13th in MX2 standings for 2021 but could miss a GP or two if the British Championship dates conflict with MXGP.

Kay Karssemakers (#33)

Conrad Mewse walked away from this Hitachi KTM program on January 14 and two weeks later the team announced a two-year deal with Kay Karssemakers. Karssemakers will make his MX2 debut this weekend in Great Britain.

Diga Procross KTM Racing

Liam Everts (#72)

The hype surrounding Liam Everts, the grandson of motocross legend Harry Everts and son of perhaps the greatest GP rider of all time Stefan Everts, has been coming for years. This year, we will finally see a full scope of what Liam Everts is capable of on the Grand Prix level after finishing seventh in EMX250 last year. With KTM and Red Bull backing, Diga Procross is not a full-factory team, but they will provide Everts with ample opportunity to show what he’s made of this year.

Bike It MTX Kawasaki

Mikkel Haarup (#11)

The Dane stays with Kawasaki for 2022 but goes from F&H Kawasaki to Steve Dixon’s Bike It MTX Kawasaki program.

SM Action Racing Team YUASA Battery

Andrea Adamo (#80)

Italian Andrea Adamo was a solid 14th in the MX2 standings for his rookie year in 2021 and his SM Action Racing Team will get some help from GasGas to maybe push Adamo to even greater heights this year.

426 Motorsports

Conrad Mewse (#426)

Conrad Mewse started his own team of 426 Motorsports right after departing Hitachi KTM and immediately won the Hawkstone International two weeks ago with the program. Mewse will be an interesting story to watch in 2022 as he has shown many times to have the speed to run up front in MX2.

Other Notables & Teams

Gianluca Facchetti (#22) – KTM Beddini MX2

Tim Edberg (#26) – Riley Racing

Stephen Rubini (#38) – Team Ship to Cycle Honda SR Motoblouz

Kevin Brumann (#87) – iXS Hostettler MXGP Team

Jeremy Sydow (#104) – Raths Motorsports

Emil Weckman (#125) – Team Ship to Cycle Honda SR Motoblouz

Jan Pancar (#253) – Team JP253

Petr Polak (#313) – JM Honda Racing

Bastian Boegh Damm (#403) – WZ Racing Team

Hakon Fredriksen (#427) – Honda 114 Motorsports

Main Image by Honda HRC/Bavo Swijgers

About Todd Wurtsbach

Check Also

Pro motocross mechanics discuss life as the key to travel

Has there ever been chatter in the mechanics areas during motos? alexander I think so. …