2022 British Superbikes Thruxton – Race 1 Results | British superbikes

Jason O’Halloran continued his winning streak at Thruxton, following a late break as his main rivals clashed in Saturday’s Sprint race, round six of the Championship.

The McAMS Yamaha rider led an all-Yamaha team 1-2 and top three at home as the manufacturer continued to dominate.

Although the Aussie started on pole, the race started with Glenn Irwin vying for the lead, with O’Halloran aware that his best chance of winning was to be in front.

After changing positions during the opening laps, the championship leader made a move and looked to take a small lead. Irwin faded and Peter Hickman, who was now second, struggled to match him for pace.

British Superbikes Thruxton Race Results (1)
Pos Rider Nat Crew Time
1 Jason O’Halloran AU Yamaha McAMS 19m 01.073s
2 Tarran Mackenzie UK Yamaha McAMS +0.039s
3 Bradley Ray UK RICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha +0.032s
4 Glenn Irwin UK Honda Racing United Kingdom +3.545s
5 Peter Hickman UK BMW racing FHO +4.081s
6 Lee Jackson UK FS-3 Race Kawasaki +6.185s
seven Rory Skinner UK FS-3 Race Kawasaki +7.203s
8 Leon Haslam UK Visiontrack Kawasaki +9.385s
9 Tom Sykes UK MCE Ducati +9.616s
ten Tommy Bridewell UK Oxford Racing Ducati Products +11.438s
11 Ryan Vickers UK FHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports +13.735s
12 Christian Idon UK Suzuki Building Base +14.121s
13 Kyle Ryde UK RICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha +14.186s
14 Danny Buchan UK SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad +16.492s
15 Ryo Mizuno JAP Honda Racing United Kingdom +20.723s
16 Tom Neave UK Honda Racing United Kingdom +25.558s
17 Dan Jones UK Iforce Lloyd & Jones BMW +25.622s
18 Leon Jeacock UK Specsavers Suzuki +25.792s
19 Liam Delves UK Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki +27.797s
20 Josh Brooke AU MCE Ducati +28.105s
21 Josh Owens UK Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki +28.208s
22 Dean Harrison UK DAO Race Kawasaki +28.429s
23 Takumi Takahashi JAP Honda Racing United Kingdom +28.538s
24 Luke Hopkins UK Honda Black Onyx Safety +33.353s
25 Storm Stacey UK LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki Team +39.389s
26 Tito Rabat SPA TAG Racing Honda +46.451s
27 East James UK Kawasaki – NP Racing 10 rounds
28 Danny Kent UK Suzuki Building Base 1 turns
29 Chrissy Roux UK Crowe Performance BMW 0 laps
30 Luc Mossey UK IForce Lloyd & Jones BMW 0 laps
31 Andrew Irvin UK SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad DNS

An immediate response came from Bradley Ray and his McAMS teammate Tarran Mackenzie, who saw the chance to win disappear on the track.

The duo brought it back, but with podium points up for grabs, their battle for second place allowed ‘The O Show’ to pull away again and continue their winning streak at Thruxton after a triple win over the track in 2021.

This is O’Halloran’s 60th podium, while his sixth win of the season is also his 21st in British Superbike.

Behind, a photo-finish was needed to separate Mackenzie and Ray as their battle continued to the finish. Just 0.003s separated the pair, with defending champion Mackenzie just ahead for another McAMS 1-2, continuing where the team left off at Brands Hatch.

Ray of Rich Energy OMG Yamaha finished third clear for the final podium spot.

Honda’s Irwin came back past Hickman late and pulled his own narrow gap for a strong fourth.

Hickman said before the race that he didn’t feel he had the pace to run ahead of the Yamaha, which turned out to be correct as he finished just over half a second later in fifth for FHO Racing BMW, the manufacturer’s top finisher.

Lee Jackson was next to see the checkered flag in sixth position as the best Kawasaki for Cheshire Moldings FS-3, a position he held throughout the race.

Rory Skinner got back into his BSB pace after a wildcard stint in Moto2 at Silverstone last weekend and moved up from eleventh to seventh on the grid, although the Scottish rider couldn’t quite catch Jackson.

Leon Haslam took eighth for VisionTrack Kawasaki, narrowly edging out Tom Sykes who pushed him to the line as the best Ducati in the race for MCE.

Tommy Bridewell took five spots in the race to complete the top ten on the Oxford Products Ducati.

Ryan Vickers also took steps to finish eleventh after falling back from his twelfth place on the grid initially for FHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports.

Christian Iddon (Buildbase Suzuki) spent much of his time on the track battling Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Yamaha) after he fell back into his clutches, to take twelfth place.

Danny Buchan’s season continued its slide with a 14th place finish for SYNETIQ BMW Mottorad, with the last free point collected by Ryo Mizuno in 15th for Honda.

BSB Thruxton lap record – Josh Brookes – Ducati – 1m 14.655s (2019)

Thruxton qualifying front row:
Pole: Jason O’Halloran
Second: Peter Hickman
Third: Andrew Irwin

2021 at Thruxton

First race (sprint): Jason O’Halloran
Race 2: Jason O’Halloran
Race 3: Jason O’Halloran

Round Six Results (Brands Hatch)

First race (sprint): Jason O’Halloran
Race 2: Tarran Mackenzie
Race 3: Tarran Mackenzie

Disaster for front row starter Andrew Irwin.

Earlier in the day, Andrew Irwin had dug deep to pass Q1 and finish third in Q2 for a front-row start despite feeling unwell.

The SNYETIQ BMW Motorrad driver had been sitting at the top of the Q1 standings when his lap was called off, leading to frustration and a return to the track, where he again led the timesheets after a rough and aggressive lap for go to Q2 with the best. time.

He continued that momentum to finish this session third for a top-ranked start. All his hard work was wiped out by a technical error on his bike at the start of the warm-up lap. Frantically turning the bike on and off to attempt a reset did nothing and it was disappointingly far from the grid.

Moto2 world champion Rabat finished 26th.

British Superbikes has world champions in race results, such is the competitive nature of the championship, and previous pedigree means little on race day, as Tito Rabat discovered as he was the last finisher in the race sprint at Thruxton.

Learning all the way, the former Moto2 champion started just over 46 seconds behind O’Halloran and battled with Josh Brookes before taking late positions to move up to 20th.

Brookes himself was not looking forward to Thruxton after a tough time on the track last season, returning with the same bike under him.

An early crash for Luke Mossey and Chrissy Rouse saw them both hobble looking second best and caused a gap at the start of the field.

Danny Kent and James East also failed to finish.

About Todd Wurtsbach

Check Also

Scott Redding disappointed with Barcelona chances

Scott Redding says he must “forget” about trying to finish on the podium at the …