2021 Lake Havasu NGPC Rnd 5 Results


Mark Kariya | April 26, 2021

2021 Lake Havasu NGPC Rnd 5 Results: Tackle another for Dante Oliveira – and for Mateo Oliveira too.

Dante Oliveira at the head of the Lake Havasu NGPC

Dante Oliveira got off to a quick start and ran away with the NGPC round victory in Lake Havasu City, Arizona. Photos: Mark Kariya

After taking a few hits in the fourth round, the two bounced back to win their respective classes (with Dante winning the overall standings and Mateo the Pro II) at the Vikings Motorcycle Club’s Jim Geddes Memorial Grand Prix, fifth round of the FMF AMA National Grand Championship Prize Series (NGPC). (Coincidentally, the Oliveiras achieved the same results in the NGPC final here last year.)

Round four winner Cole Martinez stalked the winner, but Slam Life Racing (SLR) Honda rider had to settle for second, with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Off-Road Team’s Austin Walton taking third square.

“I was really looking for revenge,” said defending Series champion Dante (FMF KTM Factory Off-Road Racing Team). “I wanted to win [the previous round at] 29 Palms, but I had a big run.

“But I walked out with the holeshot today, put my head down and rode smoothly – from the outside to the inside. The track was rough, it was hot, but my [Red Bull/Motorex/Thor-backed 450 XC-F] worked wonderfully. You can’t go too hard here because the heat is so gnarly and the wind dries you out [the whole time]. “

The Vikings changed things up a bit and changed the ‘normal’ course, starting with a longer stroke in a downhill to the left, in addition to pushing back the lagoon jump section with a shorter jump used only for Pro and AA races. Justin Seeds of Purvines Racing Yamaha actually helped both set up and the actual work of the tractor, and the result was a tighter than usual course that retained its normal mix of sand and rock to become extremely rough. Combined with a constant wind that dried up the course despite the water trucks rolling most of the night and between numerous races, this was a supreme test of fitness.

Indeed, Martinez kept his Monster Energy / Lava Propane / Fly Racing CRF450RX seconds behind Oliveira for the first hour, but in the final 30 minutes he found himself unable to stay with the eventual winner.

“I made a pretty hard effort to touch him at first and then I calmed down a bit and tried to sink,” Martinez said. “I knew it was going to be hot, but I think the heat got a little hotter; in the ravines, the wind was not there [to give any cooling breeze]! “

Oliveira pitted a lap after Martinez – the gap between them only four seconds – but Oliveira managed to extend that into the race until the finish and he finished one minute and 19 seconds in front of the checkered flag.

Oliveira now leads Martinez in the points standings, 136-114, ahead of the summer break.

Mateo Oliveira won the Pro 250cc category.

Second from the start, Walton slipped into the first lap which left Martinez beside him, and Walton spent the remainder of the race unable to bring him back, but comfortably ahead of fourth. FMF / Dunlop / Fly Racing FX 450 rider said: “The track was brutal this time around. It was really technical and had a slower pace. You expect it to be slow [here], but it was sometimes slower than slow, so adapt to it and find these [good] lines, it was brutal.

Walton remains third in points at 99.

After chasing Tallon LaFountaine of SLR Honda for most of the race, Mateo Oliveira of FMF / Maxxis / RPM Racing KTM saw his chance and passed it with two laps to go.

“Tallon took the lead quickly and I followed him for the first 30 minutes very closely, then gave him some room,” said Mateo, Direct Connection / AEO Powersports / Klim 250 XC-F rider. “He really put a load on so I waited and let the race come to me and ended up giving him two laps to go.

“I’m very happy. I put myself in a hole at the beginning of the year [after winning round one] and I’m ready to start to come out and fight for this championship.

Despite the Pro II row starting after the Pros, Oliveira finished fourth overall, followed by LaFountaine and his FMF / Maxxis / RPM Racing KTM teammate Angus Riordan.

Skechers / Pro Circuit / Alpinestars CRF250RX LaFountaine remains the leader in Pro II points with 140 points followed by Colton Aeck (93), Riordan (91) and Mason Ottersberg and Oliveira who are tied at 90.

Seventh overall and fourth Pro went to Trevor Stewart of Fast House / Team Green, followed by Tyler Lynn of Purvines Racing Yamaha, Giacomo Redondi, 3 Bros. / Hatch Racing GasGas rider and Ottersberg, the Purvines Racing Yamaha Pro II.

AMA FMF National Grand Prix Championship

Round 5

Vikings Motorcycle Club Memorial Grand Prize Jim Geddes

Crazy Horse Campsite

City of Lake Havasu, Arizona

RESULTS (April 23-24)


1. Dante Oliveira (KTM)
2. Cole Martinez (Hon)
3. Austin Walton (Hus)
4. Mateo Oliveira (KTM) Pro II
5. Tallon LaFountaine (Hon) Pro II
6. Angus Riordan (KTM) Pro II
7. Trevor Stewart (Kaw)
8. Tyler Lynn (Yam)
9. Giacomo Redundant (GG)
ten. Mason Ottersberg (Yam) Pro II

Click here to finish NGPC results from Lake Havasu.


About Todd Wurtsbach

Check Also

Pro motocross mechanics discuss life as the key to travel

Has there ever been chatter in the mechanics areas during motos? alexander I think so. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.